Our Founders

We were founded in 2010 by three people on a mission to make plant-based foods that actually taste good – a novel concept, at the time. Vegan chef Tal Ronnen, cheesemaker Monte Casino, and Stanford biochemist Dr. Pat Brown brought their individual expertise to the table to create a new plant-based cheese that tasted so delicious, it rivaled even the best artisan dairy cheeses.

Tal Ronnen

Executive chef of LA’s Crossroads restaurant and author of the New York Times bestseller “The Conscious Cook”, became known nationwide as the chef who prepared the meals for Oprah Winfrey’s 21-day cleanse. He made his culinary mark at a number of high-profile events; he has catered Ellen DeGeneres and Portia de Rossi’s wedding, Arianna Huffington’s party at the Democratic National Convention, and a U.S. Senate dinner.

Monte Casino

Whether from behind the stove or behind the lectern, Monte has dedicated himself to the creation of fine foods for over two decades. A graduate of Johnson and Wales University, Monte has worked in the kitchens of esteemed chefs like Lydia Shire, Jodi Adams, and Wolfgang Puck. Recently, he dedicated himself to teaching his passion for blending classical culinary technique with scientific innovation. He worked as an instructor at the Cambridge School of Culinary Arts, then at Le Cordon Bleu in Boston where he taught artisan cheese-making, bread baking, and molecular gastronomy.

Pat Brown

Pat Brown is the founder of Impossible Foods and a co-founder of Lyrical Foods, maker of Kite Hill foods. As a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator and biochemistry professor at Stanford, Pat led a team that developed the first methods for analyzing, visualizing and interpreting global gene expression programs. He has also been a leader in making scientific and medical research results freely available to the public; he co-founded the nonprofit publisher, Public Library of Science (better known as PLoS). Pat is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and Institute of Medicine and recipient of the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor.